Michel Chicoine gets its first one at Cornwall Motor Speedway by Martin Bélanger – Monday July 15, 2013

CMS-480x140-2013-04-21CFN – Mother Nature decided to cooperate with Cornwall Motor Speedway as Nightly Sponsor Speed Glass presented a full event of racing for the five divisions along with a demolition derby at the end of the night.


Michel Chicoine set the pace in the 30-lap Jiffy Auto Services Modified feature as Marc Therrien hit the wall in turn 1 and caution was out with 2 laps down. Chicoine in the lead with Jeff Sykes and Justin Lalancette behind the leader, 3 cars got together on lap 4 and the yellow was out again. Chicoine the leader as Joel Doiron jumped to third. The race picked up momentum but Stephane Lafrance slowed in the backstretch bringing the race to a stop on lap 12. Chicoine doesn`t let up and captures his first ever feature race at Cornwall over Jeff Sykes and Joel Doiron


In the 20-lap Alexandria Home Hardware Pro-Stock feature, Dave Seguin took the lead over Dan Desnoyers and Michel Desjardins. Caution was out for Michel Desjardins on lap 5. On the restart, Ryan Stabler grabbed the lead as PJ Peters got second with Desnoyers holding on to third as yellow was back on lap 6. Stabler never looked back and won his first victory of the year over Roch Aubin and PJ Peters.


Thomas Cook grabbed the early lead in the 20-lap Tracy Wheeler Storm Realty Sportsman Feature; Cook led the way as Bill Mullin quickly jumped to third, but Jessica Power slipped by Mullin as Mike Stacey was second. Power had a strong car as she took second and was chasing the leader at the halfway point. Joey Ladouceur stopped in turn 1 with 8 laps to go. On the restart, Power jumped to the lead over Cook and Mullin in third. As Power pulled away, Mullin got second and was getting closer to the leader. Mullin was able to get by Power in the final turn and won his first win of the season over Power and Cook completed the podium.


The 15-lap Evans Bus Lines Semi-Pro feature was the last to hit the track as Derek Cryderman took the lead in the early portion and survived a few cautions to capture his second feature at Cornwall in 2013, Bruno Richard finished second and Kevin Fetterly completed the top 3.


In the 12-lap Baxtrom YIG Mini-Stock, Mike Gaucher took the early lead just before Serge Langlois had a wild flip in the backstretch on lap 3, Langlois was ok. Gaucher led the final portion to capture his second feature in a row over Randy Tremblay and Francois Blanchette.


The Demolition Derby was cancelled because only 1 car showed up at the speedway.

Action resumes next week as Alexandria Home Hardware will present a full night of racing.


For more information on the upcoming events at Cornwall, please visit the website at www.cornwallspeedway.com you can add us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/cornwallspeedway or on twitter at @cornwalspeedway, we will use these two Medias for contests over the next few weeks.


Jiffy Auto Services Modified Feature Results (30 laps)

Michel Chicoine, Jeff Sykes, Joel Doiron, Laurent Ladouceur, Carey Terrance, Justin Lalancette, Mario , Clair, Kayle Robidoux, Luke Whitteker, Kyle Dingwall, Tim O’Brien, Gilles Godard, Brian McDonald, Ryan Arbuthnot, Gabriel Richer, Stephane Lafrance, Travis Stacey, David Papineau, Roger Levesque, April Wilson, Chris Raabe, Marc Therrien


Tracy Wheeler Storm Realty Sportsman Feature Results (20 laps)

Bill Mullin, Jessica Power, Thomas Cook, Robert Delormier, Mike Stacey, Ronnie Tyo, Jon Mills, Chris Herbison, Louie Jackson jr, Corey Wheeler, Billy Cook, Adam Rozon, Mathieu Boisvert, Terry Ladouceur, Joey Ladouceur, Devin Caron, Jenna David, Jasmine David, Mitch Primeau, Ricky Thompson, Pat Dumouchel, Cory Winters


Alexandria Home Hardware Pro-Stock Feature Results (20 laps)

Ryan Stabler, Roch Aubin, PJ Peters, Dave Bissonnette, Ghislain Valade, George Renaud, Charles-David Beauchamp, Marc Lalonde, Daniel Desnoyers, Eli Gilbert, Jocelyn Roy, Rosco Garreau, Chris Tremblay, Sean Johnson, Jocelyn Chicoine, Steve Johnston, Michel Desjardins, David Seguin, Claude Parisien


Evans Bus Lines Semi-Pro Feature Results (15 laps)

Derek Cryderman, Bruno Richard, Kevin Fetterly jr., Nicholas Gauvreau, Richard Lalonde, Steve Billings, Roger D’Amour, Dave Renaud, Anthony Perron, Jerry Ouellet, Pascal Racette, Junior Delormier, Marco Lalonde, Adam Delormier


Baxtrom YIG Mini-Stock Feature Results (12 laps)

Mike Gaucher, Randy Tremblay, Francis Blanchette, Elisabeth Gauthier, Marc Reggentin, Justin Desrosiers, Francis Desjardins, Darryl Mitchell, Danny Lefebvre, Chris James, Mooise Page, Joel Pilon, Francis Aborameh, Serge Langlois, Scott McGill

Cornwall Motor Speedway

Leave a Reply