Ottawa to Host 2013 Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship – January 9, 2012

CFN – The Canadian Curling Association today announced that the 2013 Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship will take place March 24-31 at the RA Centre in Ottawa.

The RA Centre is honoured to be chosen to host this very prestigious event for the Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship, said Rick Baker, Host Committee Co-Chair and the RA Centre¹s Chief Executive Officer and General

As one of the largest accessible recreation, sport, fitness and hospitality clubs in Canada, we believe our wheelchair athletes will experience a first class event. We are very proud to be the home for the Capital Wheelchair Curling Association, one of the biggest Wheelchair Curling Groups in Ontario that participate at the RA. We will work in concert with our athletes and volunteers to ensure it is a truly successful championship.

At last year¹s Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship in Edmonton, 10 teams competed, with Manitoba, skipped by Chris Sobkowicz, winning for the first time.

The Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship began in 2004 and has previously been won by Team Canada (skip Chris Daw) in 2004, 2005 and 2006 and by British Columbia in 2007 (skip Darryl Neighbour), 2008 and 2009 (skip
Jim Armstrong) and 2010 (skip Gary Cormack).

Since 2002, when the World Wheelchair Curling Championship began, Canada has emerged victorious twice both by skip Jim Armstrong – in 2009 (in Vancouver) and 2011 (in Prague).

The 2012 World Wheelchair Championship will be played February 18-25 in Chuncheon City, South Korea. Canada will be represented by the reigning world championship team of skip Jim Armstrong, third Darryl Neighbour, second Ina Forrest, lead Sonja Gaudet and coach Joe Rea, with a new alternate, Jack Smart.

Meanwhile, the 2012 Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship is set for March 18-25 at the Fort William Curling Club in Thunder Bay.

Cornwall Free News

Leave a Reply