Brent Laton Acclaimed Board Chair, Todd Lalonde Acclaimed Vice-Chair at CDSBEO Annual Meeting – VIDEO

Annual MeetingCFN –  Mr. Brent Laton, Trustee for Grenville County and Elizabethtown-Kitley Township, was re-acclaimed to the position of Chair for the Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario, at the Annual Board Meeting held Tuesday, December 4. It will be the second term Mr. Laton has served as Chair, and his 10th year as a Catholic School Trustee.


Mr. Laton reflected,


“I would like to thank my fellow Trustees for the opportunity to return to the role of Chair of our Board this year. I will honour the confidence you have placed in me. We need only observe the activities going on at this time of year to appreciate that our students are indeed creating a world in God’s image. As Trustees, we are the stewards and guardians of this legacy of Catholic education, and we must continue to work together so that our Catholic schools can carry on their exceptional work.”


The Board of Trustees also acclaimed Mr. Todd Lalonde, Trustee for the City of Cornwall and Glengarry County, to the position of Vice-Chair, for a second term. Mr. Lalonde is entering his 7th year as a Catholic School Trustee. “To my fellow Trustees, and Senior Administration, it is a privilege to serve our school system, and to be a part of its success, and the accomplishments of our students. We are the shining light of Ontario, and that is a result of the quality of the people in this Board. I look forward to a second term as Vice-Chair, and the opportunity to further the growth of our education system.”


Director of Education, Wm. J. Gartland, congratulated Mr. Laton and Mr. Lalonde.


“The Annual meeting is a wonderful celebration of our Catholic faith, and an opportunity to renew our dedication to Catholic education. I know that both Mr. Laton and Mr. Lalonde share that dedication and it will be a pleasure to continue to work with them in their roles.”


The evening began with Mass, which was presided by Archbishop O’Brien of the Kingston Archdiocese. The Archbishop offered his thanks to Trustees and Senior Administration for the work they do to preserve and protect Catholic education, and blessed all CDSBEO Trustees.


The 2010-2014 CDSBEO Board of Trustees are the following:


Mr. Ron Eamer – Trustee, City of Cornwall and Glengarry County

Mrs. Nancy Kirby – Trustee, Lanark County

Mr. Todd Lalonde – Trustee, City of Cornwall and Glengarry County

Mr. Brent Laton – Trustee, Grenville County and Elizabethtown-Kitley Township

Mr. Robin Reil, – Trustee, City of Brockville, Town of Smiths Falls, and Leeds County

Mrs. Karen McAllister – Trustee, Dundas and Stormont Counties

Mrs. Sue Wilson – Trustee, Prescott and Russell Counties

Mr. Sean Fry – Catholic Student Trustee, 2012-2013


Director of Education Presents Annual Report


Director Gartland presented the 2012 Director’s Annual Report to the Board of Trustees at the meeting. “It is a pleasure to have the opportunity to highlight the accomplishments of our Board,” remarked Director Gartland.


The report reviews successes in areas such as student achievement, faith development, and program initiatives. “The CDSBEO continues to focus on our strategic plan, and its three goals: Achieving Literacy for All, Living our Catholic Faith, and Making Resources Matter. Our success resonates in the accomplishments of our students, who continue to excel in their faith, as well as their academic achievements.”


Director Gartland congratulated staff and members of the Board, for making the past school year one of progress and action.


The Director’s Annual Report

Pictured  left to right: Brent Laton, Chair, Wm. J. Gartland, Director of Education, and Todd Lalonde, Vice-Chair.



Leave a Reply