29 Council Candidates & 3 for Mayor in Cornwall Ontario for 2014 – POLL Who Will You Vote For?

29 Council Candidates & 3 for Mayor in Cornwall Ontario for 2014 – POLL Who Will You Vote For?

CORNWALL Ontario –  One of the largest groups of candidates I’ve seen since living in Cornwall are running for office in 2014 here in the River City.

Running for mayor are CFN Editor Jamie Gilcig, Incumbent Mayor Bob Kilger, and former Councilor Leslie O’Shaughnessy.   29 are running for councilor. (incumbents in BOLD below)

It should be interesting to see if the group known as FLUSH has an impact on the election.  They are working to see none of the incumbents re-elected after a number of scandals hit this council.

Who do you like and who do you think will win Cornwall?  You can vote in our poll below!

Mayor

jg2Jamie Gilcig jamie@cornwallfreenews.com

Bob1ABob Kilger

Leslie_OShaughnessyLeslie O’Shaughnessy leslie.oshaughnessy@sympatico.ca

Councillor

Todd Bennett tbennett15@cogeco.ca

Davey Bedard daveybedard@gmail.com

Roland Besner roland.besner@sympatico.ca

Alyssa Blais info@alyssablais.ca

Denis Carr dcarr11@cogeco.ca

Pat Clarke patrickclarke19@hotmail.com

Bernadette Clément bclement.sdsg@gmail.com

Maurice Dupelle maurice@clglen.on.ca

Brock Frost robertbrockfrost@gmail.com

Syd Gardiner sgardiner55@cogeco.ca

Glen Grant ggrant1130@hotmail.com

Carilyne Hébert carilyne_hebert@hotmail.com

Mary Ann Hug hugme424@hotmail.com

Greg Kielec gkielec@yahoo.com

Rony Macarone rony@voterony.ca

Elaine MacDonald elainemacdonald@cogeco.ca

Mark A. MacDonald findermacdonald@gmail.com

Claude E. McIntosh scribe125@yahoo.ca

Heather Megill  heathermegill@hotmail.com

David Murphy dmurphy10@cogeco.ca

Mike O’Neil

Andre Rivette andre.rivette@outlook.com

Denis Sabourin denis@denissabourin.ca

Gary W. Samler sampaq5@aim.com

Gerald E. Samson geraldesamson@yahoo.ca

Geoff Stephenson gkrstephenson@hotmail.com

Guy St-Jean guy@guystjean.ca

Justin Towndale justin@justintowndale.ca

Stephanie White stephanieginawhite@gmail.com

Who will you vote for Councilor in Cornwall Ontario in 2014? You can make up to 10 selections.

View Results

Loading ... Loading …

Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario

Ron Eamer  613-931-2369

Todd Lalonde   tlalonde9@cogeco.ca

Upper Canada District School Board

Kevin Brisson kevinbrisson@live.com

David McDonald david.mcdonald629@gmail.ca

Conseil scolaire de district catholique de l’Est ontarien

Michel Pilon

Conseil des écoles publiques de l’Est de l’Ontario

Jean Bédard   bmjbed@yahoo.ca

Lise Benoit-Léger  lisecolline@rogers.com

Jules Bourdon chauvin.bourdon@gmail.com

More information:

13 Responses to "29 Council Candidates & 3 for Mayor in Cornwall Ontario for 2014 – POLL Who Will You Vote For?"

  1. Lassie   September 12, 2014 at 6:20 PM

    So, 29 candidates and roughly 0 platforms.

    Well here are a couple of ideas (to start) that are up for grabs…

    1. A LICENCE REQUIREMENT FOR ALL GAS STATIONS IN THE CITY WITH MORE THAN TWO PUMPS, TO HAVE AN EMPLOYEE THAT PUMPS GAS WITHOUT BEING REQUESTED.

    2. RE-CHANNEL THE EXPENSE OF FLUORIDE IN THE WATER TO FREE DENTAL CHECKUPS FOR ALL CHILDREN AT ENTERING AND DEPARTING THE PRIMARY SCHOOL SYSTEM.

    3. DISCOURAGE THE TRANMISSION OF DISEASES SUCH AS PARVOVIRUS BY INSISTING THAT DOG OWNERS HAVE THEIR ANIMAL DEFECATE ON THEIR OWNER’S PROPERTY ONLY.

    4. A COMMON DAY OF QUIET WITHOUT LAWN MOWERS, WEED WHACKERS, OT LEAF BLOWERS.

    5. IF THE MAYOR FALLS ASLEEP IN COUNCIL, SOMEONE MUST PUT A TURD IN THE FELLOW’S HAND THEN TICKLE THE SLEEPER’S NOSE WITH A FEATHER.

  2. Trailblazer   September 13, 2014 at 10:33 AM

    Leslie O’Shaughnessy has been way to quiet, had no concern or issues speaking when on council to the point he quit which may be his downfall or be his demise) Time now Mr. O’Shaughnessy, if you have something to share best share it now or it looks like Cornwall will end up with the most corrupt Mayor in history. Same for you Jamie, spill the truth so we end up with hopefully a new Mayor. Kilger won’t show up for one debate because he is arrogant and believes regardless what he did i,e. lied, stole, cheated, abused, he will win again and that Cornwall could be the truth, but very scary. Just have to think about who 2 of Kilger’s point men are 1. Bob Peters 2. Gilles Latour. If that does not spell corrupt and cheats I don’t know what does. And where is Latour anyway? anyone know? because he has not been in 1 photo opp since being arrested for fraud.

  3. admin   September 13, 2014 at 10:45 AM

    Trailblazer what truth are you looking for? I am not hiding anything. A very odd post you made there. Frankly the issue is not the candidates in this election; but the culture and people of Cornwall. If they want change they have to make it happen. If they really are not happy with Mayor Kilger then they have two options and same for council which have 29 options instead of voting for the incumbents.

  4. Trailblazer   September 13, 2014 at 11:23 AM

    Jamie, maybe writing tell the truth was a wrong choice of wording. What I meant to deliver was if there is more or any information that should come out before elections and so we do not end up with Kilger again now is the time to let the public know. I understand that if people want change it’s in their hands to make it happen, my fear is nothing will change. Leslie quit council for his reasons and if he knows more then what he said I feel the people of this town have a right ot know it.

  5. Hugger1   September 13, 2014 at 12:54 PM

    I’m sure we will hear from Leslie O’Shaughnessy soon. Lawn signs, etc. cannot appear, if I recall correctly, until Sept. 17.

  6. jules   September 13, 2014 at 2:18 PM

    Hugger the lawn signs have appeared here in Ottawa for at least a week for alderman on people’s lawns. I see mostly liberal/fiberal signs and very few cons or green or ndp in my area. I will not vote at all for any of them.

  7. Hugger1   September 13, 2014 at 3:25 PM

    I’ve seen lawn signs too. But that doesn’t mean they’re legal.

  8. jules   September 13, 2014 at 7:15 PM

    Oh oh Hugger do you mean that the lawn signs cannot appear until Sept. 17? If this is true somebody is sure breaking the law. If you look in the Alta Vista area along Heron Road and where Heron and Walkley meet the signs are everywhere on the lawns.

  9. Simon   September 14, 2014 at 1:09 PM

    Pretty sure there’s some vote skullduggery going on… and a pretty good bet we can expect more should Frosty get in.

  10. Hugger1   September 14, 2014 at 4:00 PM

    Yes, Jules, legally lawn signs, etc. are not supposed to appear until September 17. But I guess that’s one law that gets overlooked.

  11. CrackerJIm   September 14, 2014 at 4:10 PM

    Culture is definitely the matter here.

    Unless the CFN voting has been tweaked with spoofed IP addresses or some other trick, how could an electorate (or CFN readership) put Brock Frost head of Greg Kielec. If anyone knows the issues and the political machinations of Cornwall it would be someone like Greg, not a self-promoting hack.

    My …my, my …my, my.

  12. jules   September 14, 2014 at 4:14 PM

    Hugger I learned something new from you. That is something that I didn’t know. Thanks.

  13. admin   September 14, 2014 at 4:31 PM

    CJ that’s though how some elections work. They are popularity contest and right now a bunch of River Kings fans love Brock even though the team is still shaky with less than 300 season tickets sold and a Blue & White game that drew less than half of what it did last year. Sadly Brock is playing petty politics and it appears might be using the team to try and leverage a seat on council.

    He still has not confirmed that he will personally guarantee season ticket sales if for whatever reason the team doesn’t finish the season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.